LLC Fees and Other Costs in Florida

LLC fees Florida

If you want to start a limited liability company (LLC) in Florida, you’ll need to pay certain fees and other costs. These include state filing fees, registered agent fees, and annual reports.

You can form an LLC yourself, or you can hire a professional service provider to help. The process is fairly simple, and you can save a lot of money by doing it yourself.

Registered agent fee

When forming an LLC, the state requires that you designate a Registered Agent. This is someone who receives legal documents and other state notices on behalf of your business.

You can choose to be your own Florida Registered Agent or hire a Registered Agent service to act on your behalf. Both options come with a cost, but some Registered Agent services also offer other helpful business services.

Regardless of which option you choose, the person who acts as your Registered Agent needs to have a Florida address and be available to sign for important documents during normal business hours. The registered agent’s name and address are published publicly on the Florida Department of State’s website.

It’s important to remember that you can lose your status as an LLC if you fail to maintain a Florida registered agent, so it’s best to do your research before appointing one. If you’re unsure, contact a local expert who can help.

Annual report fee

If you form an LLC in Florida, you will need to file an annual report each year. This is an important part of maintaining your company’s status with the state and keeping your business compliant.

The process of completing and filing your annual report is easy. The State of Florida provides a website that you can use to complete and submit your report.

To begin, you’ll need to confirm your business’s name and address. You’ll also need to update your registered agent and other contact information.

Once you’ve confirmed all of the necessary information, you can proceed to submit your LLC’s annual report online through Florida’s Sunbiz website.

You can pay the filing fee using a credit card or debit card, a check or money order, or by mail with a payment voucher. You must postmark your payment voucher and check or money order by May 1 to avoid late fees.

Fictitious name registration fee

If you want to conduct business activities under a name that is different from the legal LLC name, you need to register a Florida fictitious business name (DBA). The process is fairly simple.

In Florida, you can register a fictitious name online or by mail. You can also obtain a certificate of status from the Secretary of State. The fee is $30 for each certified copy of your registration document.

Before registering your trade name, you must publish a legal notice of intent in a newspaper circulating within the county where your principal place of business is located. The name you choose must be unique and meet the requirements of Florida statutes.

After you have registered a fictitious name, it must be renewed every five years. You can renew your Florida DBA online or by mail. It costs $50 to register a fictitious name. You can also withdraw it at any time.

Business license fee

If you run a Florida business, you may need to pay a business license fee. These fees vary depending on your industry and the city where you do business.

The cost of the business license can range from a few hundred dollars to several thousand. It must be renewed annually or every few years.

You’ll also need to pay a one-time business registration fee. This includes the state levy for registration ($100) and a $25 registered agent fee.

A registered agent is a person or business that receives legal documents and state notices on behalf of your LLC. They need to have a street address in Florida and be available during normal business hours.

You can either be your own registered agent or appoint someone else to do the job for you. Having a registered agent takes some of the stress off your plate, and it can save you money in the long run.