If you’re planning on starting your own business in Florida, you may be wondering what it will cost you to do so. Luckily, the cost of starting an LLC in Florida is relatively low compared to other states.
The most important costs associated with starting an LLC in Florida are filing your articles of organization and appointing a registered agent. These are both state-required fees that must be paid.
Articles of organization
When you want to start an LLC in Florida, it’s important to file the required articles of organization. These documents set up a legal identity for your business and separate your personal assets from the company’s debts.
Your Articles of Organization should include your entity name, address, registered agent, authorized managers or members, and effective date. They should also clearly define your management structure.
A registered agent is the person or business that receives official court documents on behalf of your company. It’s best to hire a professional registered agent service, as doing so can help prevent accidental lapses.
To get started, choose a unique, business-friendly name for your LLC and submit your articles of organization online or in paper form. Then, pay the $100 filing fee and $25 registered agent fee.
Registered agent fee
The Florida state government requires every LLC to have a registered agent. This person or business is responsible for accepting legal mail and court documents on behalf of the LLC.
In addition, the registered agent must be available during business hours to receive service of process. This ensures that courts and state agencies can reach the company in the event of a lawsuit or other issue.
You can either serve as your own registered agent or hire a commercial registered agent service. A registered agent service can cost around $130 a year.
A registered agent can be a friend, family member, or a company. They must have a street address in Florida and be available during normal business hours to accept legal mail and service of process.
When you start an LLC in Florida, you’ll need to pay several fees. Depending on how your business operates, these may be one-time costs or periodic payments.
For example, if your LLC sells goods in Florida, you’ll need to register for sales tax with the Department of Revenue and make periodic payments on that account. You can register online or by mail.
In addition, you’ll need to get a “certificate of status” from the state that proves you’re in compliance with Florida law and have paid all required taxes. You can get this document by filing with the Corporations Division online or by mail for a $5 fee.
You can also hire a registered agent to receive legal notices and government correspondence on behalf of your business. Some companies offer this service for a relatively inexpensive price.
Certified copies of documents
Once your LLC has been formed, you will need to order certified copies of the company’s documents. These can be obtained by mail, in person or online.
You will need to provide the name of your business, its registration number (called a document number), the type of documents you are requesting, the date they were filed, preaddressed prepaid envelopes or airbills and a filing fee.
The state of Florida also requires that the documents be mailed to the office of the Secretary of State for certification. This process may take a week or more, plus mailing time.
The Department of State accepts payment for copies of documents, certificates under seal, name availability, service of process and most filings by credit card or debit card. Upon request, the Division of Corporations will establish a service company or drawdown account to cover these fees. Once established, the account can be used for all filings and services from the Division of Corporations.